Hey, firstly I'd like to say sorry if I'm posting in the wrong section but I'm new to this website to apologies yeah!

Anyways all I really wanted to ask was there seems to be some really amazing guitarists on this site and was hoping to seek some advice on being self-taught.

I've had my guitar for about a year and a half now but haven't really bothered much with it, like maybe a few riffs like Mama Kin etc, easy stuff.

So any recommendations on going about being self-taught? Like where should I begin? I ask as I'm not a complete beginner (but not exactly Slash!) and would really just like to know how people on this forum started and maybe I can learn because I'd really like to play guitar seriously now rather than the odd toy about on some basic riffs!

Thanks!

(Btw I am into sort of Guns N' Roses, Aerosmith and similar bands and am currently playing an Epiphone Les Paul 100 if it matters at all!)
Learn a lot of songs to get an idea of what other guitarists play and how you can use that in developing your own style.

Take things slow; make a profound effort to play things correctly and fluently.

Practice extensively on technique. Watch videos on YouTube where guitarists explain how to do the more difficult licks.

Constantly challenge yourself; do not become comfortable with your playing unless you really are that good. Tackle new obstacles all the time.
I've been playing for 7 years, completely self taught. Just to start off I would recommend learning chords and scales (major, minor, pentatonic, and some chromatic to start...there's a shit ton of scales). Build finger strength and control, and practice with a bunch of songs so you can get the feel of different strum patterns.