I'm a natural drummer but after writing and composing my own music, I've taken to learn how to play at least Intermediate Electric Guitar and Piano.

One nasty habit I have is that I when I play Non-chords (Like Clapton's solo for Let It Be) I keep my pinky pressed down on the pickguard.

I have no idea where this came from and the only reason I can guess why I do it in the first place is so I can have some stability with my hand so I can hit the strings more precisely. It's almost second nature to me.

Does anyone know why I do this? I can provide a picture if needed.

Anyways, thanks and rock on good people

Musically yours, FueledbyMoon.
your supposed to do that

my guitar teacher told me to do that whenever i wasnt
if its not bothering you, or getting in the way of your playin, or preventing you from improving or whatever, why change it what works for you?
gear: schecter damien 6 fr, epiphone sg 310, marshall mg100dfx , peavey acoutic (no clue what model), ovation celebrity cc44 acoustic, rocktron silver drago distortion, rocktron banshee talk box, dunlop cry baby 535q
I figured most players anchored while soloing. It gives your picking hand a sense of relativity in relation to the strings.
Consider yourself lucky man, I hate anchoring. I naturally "anchor" by resting the wrist area of my hand/arm on the bridge... Doesn't really get in my way or disrupt me, but a lot of people tell me its wrong and/or poor posture and preach that I should anchor the way you already do naturally...
It's called anchoring and I'd say avoid it. It will help with accuracy, but it can lead to a bunch of other things including carpal tunnel syndrome.

Quote by tom32
your supposed to do that

my guitar teacher told me to do that whenever i wasnt

Your guitar teacher is an idiot.
Quote by Geldin
Junior's usually at least a little terse, but he knows his stuff. I've always read his posts in a grouchy grandfather voice, a grouchy grandfather with a huge stiffy for alternate picking.