Who here had a legitimate guitar teacher? I have been talking to my friends who play guitar, and most of them are self-taught, but there are a few you take or took actual lessons.

I was self-taught for five years, but last Thursday I started lessons with this one guy who is really really good.

My question is, were you self taught, did you have a teacher, did you learn of the internet/out of a book, or what?
Self taught, tried lessons (online lessons though I will say) and they went faaar too slowly. I found teaching myself went at a better pace, obviously.
ProTone Pedals: Attack Overdrive
Fractal Audio: AxeFX 2
Engl: Fireball 60
Zilla: Fatboy 2x12
Carvin: DC700
Carvin: Vader 7
Schecter: KM-7 MKii
Schecter: Banshee 8 Passive
Jackson: DK2M
I am 60 years old and have been playing since I was 8.

My parents gave me guitar lessons for a Christmas present, so when I started learning I definitely had a teacher - a great one. He was a member of several "stage bands" for various TV entertainment shows, as well as a performer in several bands.

I took "regular" lessons for 4 years. During the last two I started guitar and music theory. Then after completing the "regular" lessons I started learning classical guitar.
Early on there were no "effects" except maybe a reverb or tremolo.
I didn't even learn pitch-bending until the '60s from Hendrix and others.

Today, I really appreciate that training. But the internet and DVD training can be just as good. It is really up to you. The one thing that weekly lessons did was get me into practicing regularly and learning how to learn.

Follow your heart. Try to learn everything you can, but if you find it not interesting that is not a crime! Make your own music!
JamPlay.com

Best website ever! The guitar content is endless and the instructors are great! And they cover many styles of guitar playing! Try it out! First weeks free!
Gibson Les Paul Standard
Fender American Stratocaster
Taylor 210 Dreadnought Acoustic