Hello all. I've been playing my bass for about four months now (though I owned it for about a year before that), and my bass is majorly overdue for some new strings. Last weekend two of my strings came undone, so I was pretty much forced into replacements, and I decided that I might as well re-string my entire bass.

This is my first time re-stringing a bass, and my one dilemma is that the strings are too long. I'm afraid to cut them, because I'm afraid I might cut them too short, in which case there are no nearby retailers from which I could find a replacement. Shortly after I began playing my bass, one of the strings wouldn't tune and it came off, and when I got a replacement my friend helped me tie the new one. It was too long, just like the new ones, so he used a method of tying strings that I can't seem to find online. He somehow managed to leave the unneeded string hanging from the nut (which I would casually tuck behind one of the tuning pegs, with it working fine), and I don't know how he did it. I currently am unable to contact him, and I would prefer his method so that I could ensure the strings were safely on the bass before cutting them, but I don't know what he did.

Can anyone help?
Last edited by GreatJallopi at Nov 25, 2009,
The easiest way i can think of to explain this, Is take it to your local music shop and get them to show you.
Yamaha TRB1006
Fender MIA jazz bass
Hora Hybrid double bass
Hartke lh 500
Ev 606L
Epiphone les paul
@fatgoogle: Thanks for the advice, but the nearest music shop in my town knows literally nothing about instruments. Seriously, they honestly didn't know what a saddle was when a friend of mine lost one and needed a replacement.

Besides, I wanna get this done ASAP. If I went to a music store the next chance I'd really get would be Saturday, anyway. I think I'd die of boredum by then.
Trust me theyll know how to restring something even if they come over as stupid, and theyll most likely show you for free.