I have been playing guitar for a few years and am about to purchase my first bass. I don't want to spend more than about $200, but I want a decent bass that will last me a while. I want to play Red Hot Chili Peppers, Dream Theater, and everything in between. I have narrowed my search down to 2 possibilities:

Dean Edge 1 4-String Bass (Trans Red)

Rogue LX400 Pro 4-String Electric Bass

Please help me decide and provided info about your experiences with either of these basses if possible, or recommend a different bass that suits my needs. Thanks a lot.
Man, neither of those have too great of a rep, as far as I know. I'd say look into Ibanez or Squier. They both have some quality low end basses.
Only play what you hear. If you don’t hear anything, don’t play anything.
-Chick Corea
I've heard that Squire and Ibanez are good, except Squire's only have 20 frets in this price range, and I feel like I wouldn't be able to find a Squire that suits all my needs. The P bass would be better for DT, but the J would be better for RHCP. Also, I've heard that agathis, which is the wood Ibanez uses in their low end basses is like plywood.
Neither of your original two basses is known for their quality. Agathis is by no means plywood. It is a lower-end wood from the South Pacific that a lot of budget instruments employ to keep costs down. It isn't bad, but it isn't great. It is a serviceable wood that doesn't cost anywhere near what mahogany or ash or alder would cost.

As for having only 20 frets, remember that this isn't a guitar we are talking about. Rarely will you find yourself venturing past the 20th fret; even in a Jazz Fusion group. A good Squire is a better choice than either the Dean or the Rogue. You should also look at higher-end basses being sold used.