My band only just started recording, and now that I'm actually listening to myself recorded, it just seems like my playing is so sloppy with leads. Lots of unwanted string noise and the like. I've been playing since about March 07, and have been self taught all the way, but am now thinking about getting a teacher. Can anybody offer me some general tips to help me get on the road to being a much cleaner player?
Quote by LukeElliff
IF you want faster stumming then loosen your strings, that will force you into using more strength

Quote by pantallica95
i dont know about the polarity and ****, but my regular ones just wont go in the hole without a lot of force.
1. Turn down the gain, it hides your mistakes.
2. Practice until you can play parts cleanly and flawlessly, don't settle with playing something only good enough to slightly resemble the original.

||||||||||||||||||||
||||||||||||||||||||
||||||||||||||||||||

Mute the strings you don't play, practice your pick attack in general.
Fender American Special HSS Stratocaster
Ibanez 1987 Roadstar II Deluxe
Yamaha THR10X
Marshall JCM900 SL-X
Ibanez WD-7 Weeping Demon Wah
TC Electronic Polytune
Seymour Duncan Tweakfuzz
Since March 07, isn't a really long time, I mean you play clean if you've played long enough

Nobody can teach you how to play cleanly, its a practice thing, just carry on trying
Quote by Zoso1994
1. Turn down the gain, it hides your mistakes.
2. Practice until you can play parts cleanly and flawlessly, don't settle with playing something only good enough to slightly resemble the original.

I've actually only had my amp's gain on 5. That's not too bad, right?
Quote by LukeElliff
IF you want faster stumming then loosen your strings, that will force you into using more strength

Quote by pantallica95
i dont know about the polarity and ****, but my regular ones just wont go in the hole without a lot of force.
Quote by voodoochild23