Riiight, well im gonna buy a guitar and i want an electric-acoustic. But, in sayin that, 9 times outta 10, i'll be playin it unplugged. Im not that experienced, but i am lookin at takamines at the moment. i like the look of the eg523sc, but havent had a chance to play one yet. does anyone know if sounds good unplugged? and feel free to suggest other guitars!
maybe this is a stupid quiestion, but is it possible to buy an acoustic and then, after a while, put in a pre-amp??
you could do that... but it would be more difficult and expensive. you should just get and electric acoustic. Im no use at that though, only played several and cant remember there names. I know Yamaha's got some decent sounding ones
GUITARS
Burswood Acoustic
Squier Affinity Strat
Fender Tele Deluxe
BASS
Ibanez Jetking bass
AMPS
Marshall MG30DFX
Peavey max 158 bass amp
Fender Bassman 250
1979 Carvin of some sort
And some pedals
Try tanglewood too
Vintage ICON Peter Green Replica Les Paul
Epiphone LP Standard
Marshall JCM2000 DSL401 (New Valves )
Boss TU-2 & SD-1
EHX #1 Echo
most acoustic electrics won't suffer from the electronics in them. the best plan is to test them all out in store, but i would always buy for the true "acoustic" sound, not the sound of the electronics.

anyway, you can have a preamp put in afterwards, but that can be expensive, and cutting into the body of an acoustic is always a bit of a risk. acoustics are made really carefully with tons of time put into internal bracing and such. so when you cut a big square out of the shoulder it can sacrifice some tone or stability. the best option if you wanted to buy an acoustic without a preamp is to get a soundhole pickup. they can be expensive, but not as much as putting a whole preamp in the guitar. i think they sound great, and you wouldn't have to cut into your guitar to fit it. you'd just have to deal with a wire or two, but it should clip right in to the soundhole.