Alright, so I'm a bassist, and I'm trying to help my guitarist pick out an amp that he can use for gigging. I've got about 200 watts behind me coming from a 15 inch speaker and four 10 inch speakers, and we've got a drummer who likes to beat the shit out of his set (actually the link's in my sig). We play Muse/Radiohead/Coldplay/U2 stuff, and he's looking for something in the neighborhood of 100 watts, tube driven. He loves Matt Bellamy and wants that kind of tone, but Wolfmother and Radiohead are also big influences. He says he's got about $1000 to spend, and neither of us wants the guitar to overpower the bass.

To sum it up:
Genre: Alternative (Along the lines of Muse and Radiohead, not Nirvana and Alice in Chains)
Needs to be able to compete with, but not overpower, a loud rhythm section (200w full stack from the bassist and loud drums)
Kind of in love with Matt Bellamy

Any suggestions?
Just a rule of thumb - 100 watts isn't totally necessary for what you guys play. He might be able to get away with something in the 50+ range. You have a good budget to work with for 50-watt and higher amps so I'd say you're in good shape. For what you play I think he might want to look into some used Marshall (JCM 800/2000 maybe?) or some Orange (Rocker/Rockerverb, I think he can get them in that price range used) amps. Someone else will chime in with some other suggestions.
Ibanez RGA121 | ESP LTD H-1000
Axe-FX Standard
I'm in almost an identical situation, and my 50 watt 2x12 keeps up, and could probably overpower my bandmates.

That said, I'm not as familiar with those tones, so I'm not sure what to suggest. Just stay open to things under 100 watts.
Feel free to call me Kyle.

Quote by ibz_bucket
Just so you know, I read everything you type in a Mike Rowe from Dirty Jobs voice.

Quote by tubetime86
I mean in Kyle's case, it is in the best interest of mankind that he impregnate anything that looks at him funny...
He can do so much better than a Valveking on his budget.