I've been playing for nearly three years now, and I've come to a point where I don't really know what to do to get better. I think my problem is stemming from the fact that I want to start writing songs, and I don't really know how. See, if you give me a chord progression, I can easily lay down a solo over it, but I can't write my own music, besides the obvious fiddling around with common chord progressions like I-IV-V or I-VI-V-IV. I play my solos mostly in the minor pentatonic, because even though I have some knowledge of modal shapes like the Dorian, Ionian, and Aeolian, I can usually get a more appealing sound from a pentatonic scale.

I can play fairly fast, but I find it difficult to use speed to any effect. I'm often amazed by solos where someone is able to shred and keep it melodic at the same time. Furthermore, my playing at fast speeds is sloppy and dirty, and I lack the theoretical knowledge needed to use scales effectively.

I know the old, tired advice - slow it down, use a metronome, but the problem with repeating drills and exercises ad nauseum is that I have no motivation to do so. I know that I could shred my way through a scale at 250 bpm if I started playing it today at 60 and worked on it for 6 months, but I don't have any reason to do that. Sure, it'd be impressive to belt out 3 notes a second, but will it contribute to a song? Not likely, at least currently.

I'm not trying to complain or anything. I don't really know what I'm doing, posting this here. I guess the tl;dr version is: I'm in a rut and I'm bored with my instrument. What can I do to improve my playing and bring some enjoyment back to guitar?
I'm looking for a tab of The Marshall Plan, by Blue Oyster Cult, and of Mario Minor, by Powerglove. If you have one please PM me.