So here's my dilemma; I'm in this band with a couple of my good friends. But here's the catch; they all suck. I feel confident saying that I'm a fairly competent musician (far from amazing, but I can hold my own). I feel kinda like a d-bag saying it, but they're really not very good musicians, and they don't seem to realize it. None of them really practice a whole lot to improve. We've got a bassist who is tone deaf/rhythmically challenged, a vocalist who can growl but not sing (which is very important to what we play), and a drummer who's just too tense and has a hard time finding a groove (there's also another guitarist, who's not spectacular, but not completely incapable either).

I don't want to up and walk away without a reason because, like I said, they're my good friends, but I almost feel embarrassed playing with them. I know some other guys who I could play with, but I don't want to play the same stuff with them because I'd feel like a backstabber. I know I could start another band playing different stuff, but progressive metal type stuff (which is what we play) is where my musical passion really lies. This all sounds like some shitty tween drama-sitcom, but oh well. So my question is, how should I deal with this situation? Feel free to make fun of me or call me a twat, I know it'll probably happen anyway, though I apologize if I sound conceited or condescending.
____________________ ___________________
..............................................I have epic fail.........................................