Get a bass guitar tone like Mike Dirnt on the album Dookie?

I've been playing for about 6 months so I'm not exactly an expert... (i'm learing Longview from my teacher and when I play it i'd like to be able to get a similar sound.

If it helps I play an Ibanez SR300 and use a Hartke B30 Amp. I've been fiddling around a little bit and havent really go close, It seems less bass, more treble though?

Any responses would be much welcomed!
Well, he uses a signature Fender P-bass and a since-discontinued Mesa amplifier (the M-2000). Your bass may be fine, but you will definitely need an amplifier with more thunder.
Quote by FatalGear41
Well, he uses a signature Fender P-bass and a since-discontinued Mesa amplifier (the M-2000). Your bass may be fine, but you will definitely need an amplifier with more thunder.

on dookie im sure he used a gibson grabber II (GASing for one seen em doing a limited run of em ) until the infamous rugby tackle by security which broke said bass and he switched to P-bass for warning onwards.Im not sure which amps he used back then tho its most likely the mesa.

One way would be roll on the treble a little and the bass and cut the mids a little thats what i kinda guess is similar.Thats what im thinking even tho im not the greatest at this kinda stuff.

AFAIK Harke amps are pretty transparent sounding aswell.
Guitar Gear
Guitar: Ibanez GRG140 (black)
Amp:Peavey Vypyr 75

Bass Gear
Bass: Fender P-bass MIM,Peavey Millenium 5 BXP (x2),Epiphone Thunderbird
Amp:Ampeg PF500 w PF210 cab
Pedals: ODB-3,Big Muff.
P bass with duncan quarter pounders and a very generic sounding EQ settings
ESP B-405,Fender American Jazz Bass(EMG J active pups and LEO QUAN BADASS II ) squire P bass(EMG P active Pups)),
SansAmp Bass driver DI
Ampeg SvP PRO Tube Preamp
QSC2450 Power amp
Furman PL8
FINALLY-Ampeg SVT 810E