Well the other thread was closed so I can't ask my question. I'm just learning how to play guitar and I don't have a pick so I'm just using my thumb. And well, I got a really big blister on it. I've been learning just switching between different frets and the C and G chords. I read it's not normal to get a blister on your strumming thumb so should I be doing something different? Thanks.
If your just starting out a blister is nothing unusual. Once it heals and you keep on playing you'll get a callous there and you won't have that problem anymore. You'll also be getting some callouses on your fingertips the more you play.
What Matt420740 said. You'll have a blister for a bit, but that's completely normal and will go away in a month or so if you continue to practice regularly.
-Rudy

Quote by blackthought
Sometimes it's best to prepare for the worst possible eventuality... sex with Bill Murray.
Quote by DukeDeRox
I'm as shallow as a dry lake bed.
As the above poster said, that's nothing unusual. I know it sounds strange now, I thought it did too when I first began playing. Don't worry you'll get used to it.
So I don't get it, why doesn't anyone like Squiers?

GEAR:
Red Affinity Series Squire Fat Strat [guitar]

Little Big Muff Pi [pedal]
Thanks guys. So I should keep playing even with the blister or let it heal first?
Quote by ImaExplode
Thanks guys. So I should keep playing even with the blister or let it heal first?

It would be best if you let it heal a bit, but if you can't wait, then put a band-aid over it and keep on playing. Or you could get a pick and work on that for a while. Even if you play fingerpicking style, there are some things you just can't fingerpick, so its not a bad idea to at least get used to a pick for those times when you need it.
Quote by ImaExplode
I appreciate the responses, this seems like a great resource. Thanks everyone.

No problem. Welcome to UG
Quote by ImaExplode