Ive searchbarred and checked the stickies could see anything

thats right im looking for a as cheap (~£1000GBP) recording setup but dont know what im actually looking at is anything good including:

-the computer its self + sequencer - Mac or PC ?? could i use my existing PC?
-sequencer (M-powered Protools 8?)
- Audio interface-needs phantom power-(would a M-Audio Fast Track Ultra be good?)
-mics - Dynamic and condensers (SM57? AT2020?)
-XLR/jack
ect- have i missed anything ?

Edit: the style that will be recoreded is Metal.

-as you can proberally tell im new to this recording .. take it easy on me

-im only going to be focusing on Guitars/bass/vox at the moment and will upgrade to recording drums when i get more money

-DONT MAKE THIS INTO MAC VS PC THRED

EDIT the PC im using now is a DELL its specs are:

Intel pentium 4 CPU 2.80GHz
2.79GHz,512MB RAM
windows XP home Edition
Quote by rgrockr
You can buy whatever guitar you want, you don't have to be at a certain skill level to buy one. This is real life, not some guitar-playing RPG where you have to unlock new guitars.
Last edited by kakos at Dec 19, 2009,
macbook pro
logic studio 9 ($250 on ebay..a $600 program)
LINE 6 TONEPORT UX2- awesome interface!
Guitar Rig!!
Equipment:
ESP LTD EC-1000
Agile 727 Interceptor Pro
Ibanez RG7321
Marshall 1960A Cab
Peavey 6505+
Rack stuff

Whoop Whoop. Holla.
I would suggest building a PC with an Intel i5 CPU and at least 3 gigs of Ram, you'll also want a firewire card. for the software, you can run Reaper (unlimited free trail and a license is like $60) for the interface I would suggest a Presonus firebox to start out with.

I don;t know what genres you are looking to record so I'll hold back on mic reccomendations, but I will say you should get a Sure SM57 for micing your amps.

Quote by Jigsaw62
macbook pro
logic studio 9 ($250 on ebay..a $600 program)
LINE 6 TONEPORT UX2- awesome interface!
Guitar Rig!!

This guy said cheap...