I have been playing self taught for about a year and a half now, and am dabbling into music theory and such to really play, not just covers of songs and reading tabs. I've read countless articles and lessons on scales and how to use them and all that, but the thing is, I still don't really get it.

Lets please just stick with the minor pentatonic since it is easy. You start a scale and most people, if not all, tell you to end the scale with the root note again so it sounds complete. But after you start your root note, do you have to follow the pattern of A, A#/Bb, B, C, C#/Db, and so on? Or can you pick random notes? I'm not entirely sure how you construst a scale. I know about positions and uch and how they move, but how do you pick the next notes for your solo while following the scale? If you need clarification or anything ask and I'll try to clear it up or PM me if you'd like.

~Thanks
A scale is just a set of notes that are known to sound a certain way together - that's all.

They don't tell you what to play, they aren't maps - understanding a scale simply means you know how those notes work together, and if you know that then you have a head start when it comes to figuring out what you want to do with them. Just playing a scale isn't playing music, it's just something you do to warm up or practice...you need to have some sort of idea in your head as to what it is you actually want to create.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
Last edited by steven seagull at Nov 30, 2009,
Thats the chromatic scale, not the pentatonic. The pentatonic scale only has five notes between each root note, and depending on whether its major or minor the notes are different.

Dunlop 535Q Wah, Ibanez TS-9, EHX LBM
Mesa/Boogie Express 5:25