I'm new to the forums and didn't see a singer's section, so I hope this thread is in the right place.

I started playing guitar couple of months ago and I've taken music lessons in school. I know the basics of music theory.

But today we got this assignment that interests me very much. The teacher told us to find out a vocal melody progression of a particular song we like. Paramore is my absolute favourite band, so I chose a song called 'Decode'. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RvnkAtWcKYg

The thing is that I just can't make out what chords she is singing. Can you help me? I'm not transferring my assignment to you, because our teacher said that it's OK to ask an experienced player. We're practicing guitar, so vocal melodies can be hard to recognize. Our goal is to play our favourite songs along with guitar.

Sorry my English, it's not my main language. Ask if there's something what you didn't understand.

Thanks!
Just play the notes on your guitar, forget the chords because I rarely see a singer singing chords.
ಠ_ಠ
Quote by bigcheese1
I'm new to the forums and didn't see a singer's section

There is. Singing&Vocals, sub-forurm of Musicians Talk.
Oh yeah, sorry. I meant notes, not chords. Is there a way to interprete the notes she is singing to something a guitarist could play?

i think TS means what key the song is in

No, actually I want to find out what notes Hayley uses. Like, this is completely made up, C, C#, D, E; and in the chorus B, A, D, G.
Last edited by bigcheese1 at Dec 1, 2009,
I'm in no way experienced in singing but you can generally match a note which someone sang, to a note on a guitar. Then again, you have a trained ear to hear it which I don't have...

Quote by bigcheese1

No, actually I want to find out what notes Hayley uses. Like, this is completely made up, C, C#, D, E; and in the chorus B, A, D, G.

That's the same thing. The key defines which notes are used in a particular song.
Last edited by d1sturbed4eva at Dec 1, 2009,
Ok...