Not a gag topic lol. I know my vocals are not good sounding and I cannot figure out why. I'm a decent guitarist of two years but been in music with drums and some piano for like seven. I've sang some but I recently started really singing a couple of months ago. My voice sounds fine to me, but when I play it back...it sucks. I have good posture, I breath from my diaphragm, and I am getting the feeling of a raised palate, all which I believe I show in this video. I just dont get why it is so unpleasant and I'm looking for help.

PS. I know I run out of air during the chorus, and that is just because I have bad asthma and it gets bad later at night. During the day and after I've warmed up a lot I can hold notes a lot longer. Also went slightly off key during the start. My bad! :p

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AefqfbazwBQ

Edit:Alright. Got some new covers...well cover for now up. Check my profile. I will be putting more and updating.
Last edited by Mekchrious at Dec 10, 2009,
i have the same problem. my vocals sound fine when im singing to myself, and others tell me i sound good, but when i record myself and play it back i sound like shit. i always just chocked it up to shoddy recording equipment, usually just my built in computer mic, since everyone says i sound fine when i sing in front of them
My Gear:
Fender '72 Tele Thinline Deluxe Reissue
Vox Night Train 15W
Hey dude. I honestly think its a confidence issue, you can really tell that your holding back.
Well. Almost nobody sounds good when they're singing that quietly. I assume there's people sleeping in your house?
The camera quality was crap but yes I was singing a bit softly and yes there are people in the house. I probably should've noted that. I will get another video put up tomorrow when I can really belt it out. And I'm not shy I was holding back cause of volume.