SO. I am studying abroad in Athens, Greece next semester and I cannot ****ing wait... except for one thing. Because of the high import duties, the program I'm studying with won't allow me to bring any electric guitars with me. My Gibson Explorer and ESP LTD MH-1000 will be greatly missed.

Obviously I don't want to go four months without playing ... does anyone know about obtaining guitars in Athens and what prices are like? I would be fine with either renting or buying a guitar, but it's not like I have $1000 to blow. I just got my LTD this summer anyway, so I'm not really in the market for something amazing. I'm just looking for something cheap that I can tolerate playing for 4 months. I'll be staying in an apartment with other people, so I probably won't even want an amp. Unless I am able to form a band in Athens...that would be awesome

but yea, any info on the best way to get a guitar in Greece would be appreciated. I have searched online a lot but haven't found much (perhaps all the sites are in Greek and that's why I can't find them :P)
You could buy a Bouzouki ...
Quote by icpgettozone
are you legit?
No, I'm a

COMMUNIST

Quote by Daneeka
It feels a little good inside to be fair, i feel like i rocked to hard that i killed my amp.

If you will return home with the guitar you will not be charged duty. They put it in your passport and you must return with it.
Quote by say5ss2

hey thanks! for the first one at least... :p

Quote by lpool20062007
If you will return home with the guitar you will not be charged duty. They put it in your passport and you must return with it.

Really? So I can bring a guitar? Because I most certainly will be returning with it... that would certainly make things easier!

guitars are too big to carry-on though aren't they? Do I need to get a special kind of case if I'm going to check it? I have a hard case but I don't know if I need something extra heavy duty or something.
Last edited by bonesofghosts at Dec 2, 2009,