Ok, I'm relatively new to pedals, in fact I've only ever used a distortion pedal that was borrowed.

I'm just wondering if there's some kind of pedal that you guys could point me to that maybe fattens up the tone of single coils a bit, eliminates or partially gets rid of the hum, and generally makes single coils sound like humbuckers. I am thinking specifically of a strat here.

I dunno, is there such a pedal? And please don't just say "put a humbucker in the strat" or "get a les paul" cause' I do have a les paul, I'm asking about the pedal used with a strat.

Thanks for your time,
Gear:

Vintage VS6 (Wine Red)

Marshall VS100 Valvestate head with 4x12 angled cab

Squier Strat (Fiesta Red) 90's, Korean
Last edited by Eurozeppelin at Dec 2, 2009,
You could get a noise-gate for the hum. Which basically cuts the signal when the volume drops below a certain point.

As for the single coil/humbucker thing. I think Seymour Duncan make a pickup booster that claims to be able to do that, I've never heard one though.
I deeply regret the 6661 in my username. Siiiigh. Damn you, 14 year old me, you edgy little bastard.
I don't think it's possible to do something like that, the RP-series of Digitech have such a thing, but it's actually not that good at all... It hardly changes the tone, and it's one of the most unnecessary things on the pedal.
For you, I'd suggest either living with the tone you have, or you could get a noisegate for the hum and mess with your EQ for the fatter tone (but it will never fully sound like a humbucker...)
Gear:
Fender Jazzmaster
Boss DS-2
Digitech RP150 (with Line6 EX-1 Exp pedal)
Orange Crush 30R

My Youtube Page
Read this!You know you really want to...

Yeah, a pickup booster + noise gate or playing on settings 2 and 4 on your Strat are your best bet.
a smartly used eq padal or fat boost on low gain with a noise gate should get the effect you want.
Try the electro harmonix knock out, check it out on youtube it should do exactly what you want