Hi there.

I'm currently working on a Boss BR-600, a laptop, a Toneport GX and a Shure SM58 mic.

Anyway, I'm most probably going to get a MacBook Pro sometime soon, so I've decided to break the bank and get a synth and drum machine while I'm at it.

Any recommendations? Bear in mind I've never used either device before.

Oh, and my budget will probably be (at most) $500 altogether. In Canadian dollars. Cos I live in Alberta, Canada. Yay.

Fire away.
just get a copy of logic pro with your Mac it has all the synth and drum machine stuff you are likely to need.
make Industrial and/or experimental electronic music? Join my group!

Last.fm
Logic or Ableton Live have all that stuff. I can't recommend Ableton highly enough, you just need to put a bit of time into getting the hang of it. Then once you have a grip on it, you can dwonload hundreds of free drum sounds and synths and plug 'em right in and make music. It's awesome, I bang out full songs in a matter of hours with just a midi keyboard. It's a $50 Korg nanokey and it gets the job done with no hassle whatsoever. It even comes with a sweet synth plugin that works in any DAW to get you started right off the bat.
Telecaster - SG - Jaguar
Princeton Reverb, Extra Reverb
P-Bass - Mustang Bass
Apogee Duet 2 - Ableton Suite
I would reccomend logic of Ableton if you plan on doing a lot of conventiional recording (i.e. guitars, bass, vox and whatnot) Live is great for loop jugling and working with electronic music, it's not all that great for straight up mutlitracking

Last.fm
Quote by Kid_Thorazine
I would reccomend logic of Ableton if you plan on doing a lot of conventiional recording (i.e. guitars, bass, vox and whatnot) Live is great for loop jugling and working with electronic music, it's not all that great for straight up mutlitracking