I've been playing for almost 2 years, and what comes naturally to me when I jam is sorrowful, atmospheric sounding riffs. Very much influenced by Opeth and other depressing artists.

What I want is to break out from this strut; I want to be able to write funky, groovy rock music like Muse and Franz Ferdinand, but I can't no matter how hard I try.

Any ideas on the scales/chords these bands use or any other tips? I've tried to analyse the songs and stuff, but when I improvise I still get sad sounds.

Thank you.
I'd suggest watching videos and studying hand movements/placement. Besides learning the correct way to play the stuff, it'll give you a feel for it much better.

For example, I had a horrible time playing David Gilmour solos until I watched him live a few times and learned how he held, bent and muted notes.
stay away from minor scales and chords, they a have a depressing tone to them
Quote by 23:50 inbleach
can't i just eat the fucking cactus?

Quote by WildChicken
Go suck a cat westdyolf!

Quote by Cat Of Pain
So, West...

I hear you'll suck my cat...

Ill suck your cat
PEACE LOVE PANCAKES
call me zach

chocolate chip pancakes!
Morphing you say? Well then i suggest you invest in one of these suckers:

-----
Currently using:
B.C. Rich NJ Deluxe Jr. V
B.C. Rich Revenge Warlock
Bugera 6262 212 120 Watt amp :

Coming soon:
B.C. Rich Pro X Mockingbird Hardtail
Yes, stuff that make you nod your head with the rhythm and feel euphoric.

Also; I didn't get the morphing joke. :S
Well his joke was about the old power rangers but that doesn't matter now.

Stingray - Static X
Genius - Pitchshifter
Please Sir - Pitchshifter
W.Y.S.I.W.Y.G. - Pitchshifter (they have alot of danceable tracks)
Master Passion Greed - Nightwish
1,320 - Megadeth
Headcrusher - Megadeth
Southern Deathstyle - Moonspell
Red Stars - The Birthday Massacre
(the start of) rust in peace polaris - Megadeth
Peace Sells - Megaedeth
Blah Blah - Lady Sovereign