Hey guys,need some help. I've been playing for about 11 years, and have progressed well over this period of time. I know the scales, I can write solos and I can play comfortably till around 200 BPM, and I'm not too worried about speed either because I know how to gradually improve it. My problem lies with playing with emotion, and I don't mean in terms of 'Playing from the Heart' and 'feeling' each note that's played. I do that, and I enjoy what I play to the fullest, but there's a difference between running up and down scales with good speed and playing something that technical, yet very beautiful indeed.

There is definitely a science behind it, and I'm sure it's something you can learn. In short, it's a kind of a Trivium syndrome; the solos are fast and catchy (well,a good number of them), but each note in it doesn't mean anything. Alex Skolnick played just as fast (maybe even faster), but if you would decode his solos you'd find a picture to be painted. David Gilmour didn't play fast at all but his solos were phenomenal (partly due to his tone too,I'd say).

I don't want to end up like a lot of the new breed of guitarists who're decently fast and good at sweeps but can't really make a note sing. That seems to be the trend with a lot of guitarists today.

I know I'm not going to get very concrete answers with this one but my problem isn't that I've hit a plateau, it's that my growth as a guitarist seems to be pretty one dimensional. I try to learn some Steve Vai and Satch every now and then to get inspired, but it just doesn't do much more than being practice licks to improve speed.