Hi. I have been playing the guitar for about 3 months and I am a big fan of Joe Bonamassa. I really want to learn to play like him but I am unsure where to start. Can anyone help? If anyone has any suggestions on what dvd's or books to buy I would really appreciate it.

Thanks
if you want to play like Joe, learn his songs. That is the best way to start imitating an artist that you really idolize. Also, look back on who he takes after, and start there. Learn the chord progressions, the solos, everything!

I don't know much about him or listen to him much, otherwise I would help a little bit more.
Quote by Guitardude19
The world is a fucked up place.

Tele's

"Oh I'll play the blues for you"
Why do you want to learn to play like him? Joe Bonamassa already exists, so why don't you learn to play like Stu-G ?
Quote by carmour
Why do you want to learn to play like him? Joe Bonamassa already exists, so why don't you learn to play like Stu-G ?

Because every bluesguitarist starts out trying to play like others?

really? Speak for yourself but usually I try to learn peoples styles and then play them in my own way...
hahahaha. i love how this argument is progressing like it's never happened before..
Quote by Guitardude19

Tele's

Quote by carmour
really? Speak for yourself but usually I try to learn peoples styles and then play them in my own way...

Maybe that is what TS wants to do?
geeez carmour is there any blues topic you don't put your ultimate blues wisdom on. Give the guy some good advice, instead of one off answers. To TS learn some standards first it will give you some good insight into phrasing and lead suff.
Gear: I haz some

Quote by RCA1186
hah its ok besa, i still love you

^ guess someone has too
I just think asking about how to learn blues guitar on a forum is a stupid question, which in my books, warrants a stupid answer.
you need new books then

learn standards like besa says. shuffles, 1,4,5's, learn turnaround etc. get as much as you can down