I'm customizing a strat to make it look and sound like tom delonge's strat from blink 182. i found the wiring diagram on the fender website and he has a capacitor and resistor in his guitar. my question's are: what are capacitors and resistors? what do they do? is it ok to leave them out and just wire the guitar up with a single humbucker and single volume knob? will leaving out or adding these parts make the guitar sound different? also this is my first attempt at customizing a guitar. i've never soldered in my life. is there anything i should be aware of or avoid doing so i don't damage my guitar, brand new pickup, electronic components? any suggestions or comments would help. thanx
Quote by sixstringstupid
I'm customizing a strat to make it look and sound like tom delonge's strat from blink 182. i found the wiring diagram on the fender website and he has a capacitor and resistor in his guitar.

http://www.fender.com/support/diagrams/pdf_temp1/stratocaster/0138200A/SD0138200APg2.pdf
thats the diagram there, right?

Quote by sixstringstupid
my question's are: what are capacitors and resistors? what do they do?

this is a really broad question...
a resistor basically resists the current flow, and a capacitor is usually used in audio applications to filter certain frequencies.
in this case, they're there to stop the sound from getting muddy/too bassy when you turn the volume knob down.
essentially, it's just letting the high frequencies pass through, less affected by the pot than they'd usually be.

Quote by sixstringstupid
is it ok to leave them out and just wire the guitar up with a single humbucker and single volume knob?

of course. a 'standard' guitars wiring doesn't use the resistor and capacitor in there.
but keep in mind:
Quote by sixstringstupid
will leaving out or adding these parts make the guitar sound different?

it'll make a difference in sound.