So ive been playing three years, self taught (well, except for a teacher for like a month who was not good) I have good technique, i know scales and i can solo in key.

So i have a question...... What are these mode things i keep hearing about? I tried looking into them, but its so complicated. Can i get a realllly basic answer of what a mode is? thanks.
modes is easiest explained as playing the same notes as in a parent scale but in different intervals. its how you use it that makes the difference, at first it seems just kinda like soling in key... but once you get used to using proper phrasing you can get sum really good sounds.

C,D,E,F,G,A,B - C ionian
D,E,F,G,A,B,C - D dorian

start there and experiment with how they sound different? thats my best advice I'm sure someone else can explain it better but i tried
i'm not really sure what you mean with modes 'cause i speak spanish but, is something like modulation or maybe do you know another name for it??
Quote by kapman2489
modes is easiest explained as playing the same notes as in a parent scale but in different intervals. its how you use it that makes the difference, at first it seems just kinda like soling in key... but once you get used to using proper phrasing you can get sum really good sounds.

C,D,E,F,G,A,B - C ionian
D,E,F,G,A,B,C - D dorian

start there and experiment with how they sound different? thats my best advice I'm sure someone else can explain it better but i tried

So a mode is a variation of a scale?

So i have to memorize all of these variations?
well theres 7 different scale modes, and once you memorize the patterns you can apply that to any key. but start with the first 2 modes so you get a feel of what the difference is. It took me a long time to get the concept of it but it'll come to you if you listen to the differences. Its easy to start with F because of how its laid out on the neck

F ionian
e ------------------------------------3-5-6
b -----------------------------3-5-6