Hi. I'm new to electric guitar scene and am looking forward to buy my very first electric guitar. Luckily, my friend has a year old Epiphone Les Paul Black Beauty which he will let me have for $450. (Is this a good deal btw?) But while searching on the internet, I realized that epiphone had produced Elitist Les Paul Custom in the past. Assuming that I find a music store which has the elitist custom in stock for around 1000 (The price was around 1000 right..?), would buying the elitist custom benefit me more ? i mean overall, in terms of quality, resale value, etc. If I have the choice, which guitar should I opt for ? A used black beauty in excellent condition $450 or an elitist les paul custom for $1000+ ? Please help me out..Your inputs are very much appreciated. Thank you.

P.S. How does the Riviera P93 "Limited Edition" hold up against these two ? I really like the design and the price..although I'm not too sure whether it's actually limited or not..lol
Yes, it can. The wood is far higher quality, the other components are far better, the build quality is better.
Current Gear:
LTD MH-400 with Gotoh GE1996T (EMG 85/60)
PRS SE Custom 24 (Suhr SSH+/SSV)
Ibanez RG3120 Prestige (Dimarzio Titans)
Squier Vintage Modified 70s Jazz V
Audient iD22 interface
Peavey Revalver 4, UAD Friedman BE100/DS40
Adam S3A monitors
Quote by Anonden
You CAN play anything with anything....but some guitars sound right for some things, and not for others. Single coils sound retarded for metal, though those who are apeshit about harpsichord probably beg to differ.
get teh elitist if possible, but i assume that they are hard to find. As an elitist owner, i can tell you that they are miles ahead of any epiphone and any lower quality gibson
Quote by envoykrawkwar7

edge11
that was an epic win
best thing ive read all day

[feel free to sig this statement]

Gear:
Esp Ltd Ninja 600
Esp Ltd F-50
les paul elite
5watt jcm800 clone
Roland jc-55
Crate V33
Jca20H
Ibanez tubescreamer ts9
Keeley ds-1