I`d like to get some of you theory nuts feedback.

Ok, so i've been fartin around here for awhile and some of you know theory like the guy in Good Will Hunting. I thought I knew a little and the little turned to even less after awhile. I've been playing for 25 years now on and off. Sometimes I don't even own a axe and I used to lose interest for months. For years I only played acoustic because I couldn't afford gear or I just didn't have much drive. Usually if I didn't have anyone to jam with, that's when the passion died off.

A couple years ago, I got myself out of a bad situation and renewed my interest in playing electric guitar with a vengeance(probably because I had someone to jam with once in awhile so I had something to practice for). I'd sit at home teaching myself Megadeth songs off a little CD player I had. I was proficient enough, from my teens, to even teach myself some pretty good solos after awhile. Some I'd learn with tab, some by ear or both. I always seemed to have to learn leads note by note though. I could never just play my own variation of a particular lick in a solo, like improvise.

So I started working on learning this Box pattern and how I could associate it with the key the rhythm was in. I knew that if the rhythm was in E that I could use that pattern at the 12th fret which is an E also. I also knew that even though there are 12 dots in that pattern that there was only 5 notes, they just keep repeating in higher octaves. So I started playing little licks in that box against a rhythm in E, and eventually started to use this Box (ignore the letters, just the shape), which I guess is called the blues box, that 1 extra note (in 2 places)giving it that bluesy flavor.
So taking that into consideration, I knew that if the rhythm was in G, i could move that box to the 15th fret and that it would sound "right". And a rhythm in A would move the box to the 17th fret OR the 5th fret, and so on.