I started learning how to play guitar some 6 months ago and gave up after a whole month of practicing 2~3hours daily.

Now I'm back to try this again and, although not playing as much as before, I have encountered the SAME problem as before and can't seem to get over it.

The problem is that when I have to do chord (just hold it down), my fingers seem to no spread-out enough. I end up with my pinkie arched and on top of the other strings and the tip of my other fingers hitting the upper/lower chords and the sound just comes out terrible.

In this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XL-MrZKU3Js&feature=channel, you can see how the guy's fingers reach out to 4 frets. When I tried this exercise I had trouble getting just 3 of those and the 4th was impossible.

Is this normal, at all? My brother seems to do this fairly easy, although he's played guitar for many years now, and my other brother who never played guitar seems to be almost able to do it.

Also, another problem I have is that whenever I try to play any major/minor chords the sounds don't come out clearly because I don't hold the string very close to the fret. Due to this stretching problem, I hold it usually one or two fingers in the right place and the rest in the middle/back of the fret producing a horrible sound.

I've read many "how to hold you guitar" guides and they all say to put your thumb BEHIND the neck of the guitar, but I just can't do that unless I push my elbow very high or into my stomach and hold the guitar in a very weird position.

Any thoughts on this situation?
The stretchy thing is practice - same as you wouldn't expect to instantly be able to do the splits if you started gymnastics, your fingers won't stretch very far when you start playing. The more you play stuff that makes you stretch a bit the easier it will get. My fretting hand has a reach about 2 inches more than my picking hand now lol