Are there many of you who can play drums, yet don't play them in your band? As of the moment i'm in a four-piece where i'm a singer/guitarist, because i figured it'd be easier to get my songs across if i was the guy who did the vocal melody, etc, some of the time (we have another singer/guitarist). This works well for me, but i am a drummer at heart, since it was the first instrument i learnt, and have been playing for over 6 or so years. If you have or are in this kind of situation, is it hard for you guys not to interfere with the person who's doing an instrument you can play's way of going about themself?

Though i actually think the drummer of my band is probably better than me, since he's pretty awesome at double-kick, i sometimes think to myself when me & the other guitarist show a song, how different i'd go about the song, and that my way might be better. Of course, there's been times when it's been the opposite way as well.

Anyone else been in this situation?

EDIT: By the way, i understand he's a different drummer, with a different perspective and everything, and definitely worth keeping around since he's both skilled and a good kid that i get along with, but i just wanted to know how you all would go about this kind of scenario.
Last edited by AwesomeDrummer at Dec 9, 2009,
don't be afraid to share your ideas with him. it doesn't need to be a secret that you can play the drums too. if you have an idea for something cool, ask to play his set and show him your idea. if he likes it, great. if not, oh well.
Im the singer/lead guitar in my band of 4, I can somewhat play drums. my rhythm guitar can play guitar and keys, my drummer can play guitar and bass, and my bassist, well, can barely play bass >.<

people have their talents, they use them when needed.
My Gear:
Gibson Faded Flying V
"Dante's Inferno" Iceman
Fender Hot Rod Deluxe 112
etc.

Quote by freedoms_stain
I can't imagine anything worse than shagging to Mark Knopfler.