Hi. I'm an intermediate guitarist, steadily moving on to more advanced stuff. Since I don't know the first thing about music theory I've decided it's about time I did. Problem is I don't know where to start. Any good books? Sites? (or give me a link to a thread that might give me more insight). Also, how does theory work regarding instruments? Is it studied as 'music theory' as a whole subject? Or would I be learning 'guitar theory'. Appreciate any input because as I mentioned, I don't know where to start. Thanks guys.
Music theory is fundamentally the same for all instruments.

All [modern] instruments have the same set of 12 notes (in various octaves) and the same system of scales, that's why bands with lots of different instruments can play together. C# is the same note whether it's on a guitar a piano or trombone.

There are some bits of theory that are more relevant to some instruments and musical styles however. Chord construction and voicing for example is less relevant on wind instruments which can only play a single note at a time and modes are rarely used in mainstream rock music.

In other words - Music theory is independent of instrument but some bits will be more/less useful depending on which instrument(s) you play.
Quote by doive
Music theory is fundamentally the same for all instruments.

All [modern] instruments have the same set of 12 notes (in various octaves) and the same system of scales, that's why bands with lots of different instruments can play together. C# is the same note whether it's on a guitar a piano or trombone.

There are some bits of theory that are more relevant to some instruments and musical styles however. Chord construction and voicing for example is less relevant on wind instruments which can only play a single note at a time and modes are rarely used in mainstream rock music.

In other words - Music theory is independent of instrument but some bits will be more/less useful depending on which instrument(s) you play.