a lot of people who come to this board asking for help finding a guitar seem very focused on looks when it comes to choosing one. they have particular colors in mind, or want a cutaway because of how it looks rather than that they want to play the upper frets. and while some guitars do look better to me, i would never buy a guitar based on looks - and i've been playing for audiences for many years.

looks are literally the last thing i consider when buying a guitar. the best sounding guitar i've ever played is the martin eric clapton madagascar rosewood. it's a very plain guitar, with a finish and look i would never look at twice. even worse, since i hate the entire idea of signature models, is eric's signature on the highest fret. i once decided against an al dimeola at sam ash, even though it sounded amazing and was $800 cheaper than gc and mf sell it for. but al had personally signed the front, and i felt that signature was a deal breaker. and yet the eric clapton madagascar would be the guitar for me for sure if i had the bucks.

http://cachepe.zzounds.com/media/quality,85/brand,zzounds/000-28MEricClaptonsun-e08ffe45fc6998cc33e93527407210df.jpg

you know what? it plays and sounds better than any guitar on the planet, including guitars that cost lots more. it even sounds a little better than the goodall gc at mccabe's, and that's saying something. i'd buy it if it were even marginally something i could afford on layaway.

a few times i've been tempted by a guitar's stunning good looks, but i realized that playing is not as easy and not as fun if the guitar isn't as easy to play and comfortable. and i come off much better in front of an audience when i play the best i can on the best sounding guitar. and of course, the guitar that sounds better is going to work best for the listeners.

or that's my opinion.

what's yours - how important are looks when you're choosing a guitar?
looks are pretty important, but playability is the most important