Hello, i'm quite new to practicing guitar seriously. i am the guy who could play a few songs with horrible sound. I decided to start practicing seriously (since i injured my tennis shoulder :[ ). I know the most general knowledge that most beginner's know of music theory (almost nothing *cough*)

how do i know which position to use on which note?

remember im new. try to put it in layman's terms please. Thx for ur time
Well for example, most of the time you let your index finger set the tone for the rest of the fingers and how they might be played on a scale. For example, an Am Pent at he 5th fret starting on A, youd use your index, and since the 8 is 3 frets away from that, most use their pinky (not all) The remaining strings would use Index and middle finger to play the notes up to the B and E strings which would then resume with a 1st and 4th finger.

So, in essence play slowly and determine which fingers seem to naturally fall across the notes the most effectively. Sometimes you may have a position shift. Look at whats there and determine what seems to be the easiest way to do that, but take your time, and test it.
As long as you're playing the correct pitch its really up to you what position you play it in, and what position you choose will depend on practicality - how easy is it to get to and from the notes around it - and the sound you want to achieve. For example an open top e string will have a different tonal quality to playing it at the 14th fret of your D string
that confused me a bit. thx for the quick response though.

i cant tell what im asking anymore lol... sorry. im really sick and cant think straight. soo ill be training muscle memory =P

learning Am pentatonic as we speak... its really hard for me to understand thats all. i wish i could afford a teacher.
Quote by zhilla