So I've been playing guitar for about 3 years. maybe a little more. its just recently i've started taking interest in music theory. I decided it'd probably be smart to learn the notes on the fretboard instead of just using tabs. anybody know any good ways to get me started?
it all follows this order

A (A#/Bb) B C (C#/Db) D (D#/Eb) E F (F#/Gb) G (G#/Ab) A

its cyclical.

so on the A string, the open string is A, the first fret is (A#/Bb) second fret is B third fret is C...

now you can find all the notes...

then when your looking at a staff its just where the dots are and if there is an accidental for it.
High Templar of the UG Secret Society
PM SickMetal or Sanitarium24 to join.
aNOMaly
My teacher has me play C G D A E B Gb Db Ab Eb Bb F Cb/B# F# C# (I think, don't have a guitar in front of me) on each string, really helps get the notes down.
Lost or confused?

Unfortunately my lessons for this kind of thing are not permitted to be advertised here, because it is a pay to learn from me kind of thing. However I am working on trying to become a paid advertiser here as soon as I learn more about how to go about it.

In the mean time check theory stickies - presumably there are courses here that teach everything.
if you learn the 3 bottom strings first it becomes easier to find the rest of the notes. you should at least know the notes on the 6th and 5th string for chords.
I started to do that a little while ago, Learn the notes on the 6th string first(then youll know the first string two) and then 5th, 4th, etc... Then learn the circle of fifths and their relative minors. Then learn triads and how to turn a major to a minor, major to augmented, and minor to diminished.
Quote by IRISH_PUNK13
The grandmother is having a baby with her grandson, so the grandson will be his own fathers father, the baby will be his own grandfather, and grandson, and the grandmother will be the mother, and great grandmother?

Quote by TheBurningFish
ಠ_ಠ