Hey, I was just curious about this. I have a friend who, whenever he buys a new guitar, he takes all the electronics out of it and puts new ones in. Now, he isn't really a close friend, more like a person I know, so that eliminates the obvious "just ask him." Anyway, I was just curious, what would the reason be to gut a new guitar? Longer lasting electronics? Better quality sound? Is this somewhat common?
Quote by In_Black_Flames
Hey, I was just curious about this. I have a friend who, whenever he buys a new guitar, he takes all the electronics out of it and puts new ones in. Now, he isn't really a close friend, more like a person I know, so that eliminates the obvious "just ask him." Anyway, I was just curious, what would the reason be to gut a new guitar? Longer lasting electronics? Better quality sound? Is this somewhat common?

I am new to guitars. I actually dont own one... yet. But I can tell you that the old adage "you get what you pay for" is true. So, if you buy a cheap guitar, its going to have cheap electronics. So, its a good idea to change them out. Its a rather cheap and easy way to turn a cheap guitar into a decent guitar.
Well, if you go out and buy a cheap guitar, and you dont like the sound it is producing or there is some undesired sound, you should go out and buy new pickups and electronics. the only real reason to replace all of the electronics in a guitar, is to get better superior sounds out of it.
You just LOST the game >: P

After years of extensive research at Yale, it is determined that the game does not, in fact, exist.
Re-wiring a guitar can alter the tone (Even when wired the same way), and he might like doing to figure out how the guitar works. I know that's what I do when I get pedals, is just open them up and mess around.