Page 1 of 2
Hey all. Since it's the holidays, I was thinking about what it was that I was really passionate about, and what I REALLY wanted for the holidays.

I decided on a guitar. HOWEVER, my family is incredibly poor, and, since I've never picked up a guitar in my life, my mom thinks I should hold out on an expensive guitar until I've decided I REALLY like guitar playing, and until I'm really good enough.

I have an amp through a friend, but I need a decent sounding and decently durable guitar that can hopefully one day play some melodeath at around or under $100 USD.

I KNOW the guitar I get is going to be a piece of shit, but like I said, I'm still learning, and once my family has more money, I'm sure I'll be upgrading immediately.

PS: If the guitar is available at Guitar Center, that would be a HUGE HELP. There's one right near me, and ordering online (unless it's through a local store) is not the most viable option.

ANYWAYS, thanks so much for the help, and happy holidays!
I'd go used. There's no way you're even going to get a semi-decent guitar new. Go to GC and play what they have in your price range.
Quote by Tone Deaf
Someone has had too much jager in their slushy. :/
Quote by CL/\SH
First person on UG to be a grammar nazi and use the correct form of "your" in the correct context.

+ 70 virgins to you, my good sir.

Quote by Fassa Albrecht
Girls DO fap...I don't though.
The starter packs that the different music stores have are not too shabby. If you're on a tight budget, go for playability ahead of looks. It's easy to find a chinese toy guitar that looks awesome but plays like utter shit. On the other hand, you can easily find a cheap guitar that looks plain, but plays nicely. Agiles are a good option. And as said, the starter packs usually.
for $100, you can't get much that'll last beyond the scope of six months.