So, news is going around that Froosh has left RHCP. This time around it seems like there was a bit of expectation that this was gonna happen... and the band had apparently been talking about it for a bit. It seems to be a mutual decision... and the band seems to have been giving much more notice than his last leave. Anyways Josh Klinghoffer is replacing John... and has been working with RHCP since October apparently.

So, what do you think about John leaving? What do you think about Josh?

Personally I like Froosh's solo stuff as much, maybe more, than his RHCP stuff. I'm hoping being 'free' of RHCP will allow him to further advance his solo work. The Empyrean is proof enough that unconstrained Frusciante makes amazing things... though all his albums are good.

About Klinghoffer... I've never seen him as a good, or even decent guitar player... but as a musician I think he's good.

So, what say ye?

edit: also, IMO, RHCP can't go on too much longer anyways. Chad's gettin old and has a family, blazary's getting old/ has a family/ and is running a music school... Froosh though, is still real young... and has tons of potential left! Just my opinion though...

edit2: Will you look at RHCP the same? You think they'll fail like they did with Navarro? Will it ever be the same?
Last edited by fngrstylgtr at Dec 14, 2009,
When I heard about this I was shocked. He's the reason I play guitar and RHCP are the first band I started listening to seriously.
If he really is leaving, then of course whatever we want to happen isn't going to change anything...
IMO I like RHCP more than his solo work, I do appreciate it but RHCP are just more fun to listen to.
I hope this is the right decision for him and for everyone else in the band though.
cat
I don't think this new unknown guy would be the best for the job. What's their original guitarist doing these days?