I've got an Ibanez RG550EX that I have lying around and it's not doing much. I was thinking of modding the Ibanez just so I have something to do with it, however, I'm sorta unoriginal with ideas of what to do with it!

I was thinking of stripping the finish from the body and doing some sorta different colour or something. However this is my first time doing this so I'm kinda apprehensive doing this so I'll need some help regarding this.

I was also thinking off changing out the horrendous stock pickups and putting in either Swineheads / Dimarzios / Bareknuckles. Any recommendations?

Also, I intended on changing the tuning from E standard to D standard with a change of gauge .009s to .011s.

Any opinions? Any would be helpful!
Check out Irongear pickups.
I wouldn't touch the finish unless its really bad. 550s are well respected and will not lose any value if kept close to original. Even a great respray will cut its value a lot.
I pick up my guitar and play
Just like Yesterday

T C Ellis Series 2 LP w/Skatterbrane Quiescence pups
Cort EVL-K6
Yamaha RGX211 modded
H&S Electric 12-string
Shaftsbury Ricki 4001
'84 Fender Yale
Roland Cube 15x

Revalue doesn't matter to me much,, I intend on keeping this one. Lo-pro and it was my first Ibanez. It carries some sentimental value.

EDIT: Oh, forgot to mention. My brother has Irongear pickups but I didn't like them so much. I play stuff along the lines of Progressive metal like Meshuggah, Opeth, Veil Of Maya, Born of Osiris, BTBAM, Cynic etc.
Last edited by Mwoit at Dec 14, 2009,
Quote by HankMcSpank
Slap in a small sustainer with LEDS at the end of the neck (thus keeping both your pickups of choice)..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xXB92cSQi8E

here's a thread showing how I did it (yes it's my video above)

http://forum.ibanez.com/Default.aspx?g=posts&t=78114

Wow. I don't think I have the skill or equipment to even start that project. But that is one TOTALLY BADASS mod.
Quote by redisni
Try something like this: