Hey all. This is my first time here, and I sure hope I've got the correct forum to ask my question.

I'm trying to learn Tommy Emmanuel's Angelina. I've got the tabs, and there's so much info on YouTube, yet it's taking what seems like forever to learn it.

I'm an intermediate player, but it's been only about 6 months that I've been studying fingerstyle ala Chet Atkins, Emmanuel, etc. (I always used flat picking), and I'm just recently learning to read tab (I'm certainly not fluent, but I seem to get by).

Anyway, in general, how long should it take to learn a song such as the one I'm working on? I've been working on it for about a month, and I'm just getting through the introduction and the first verse. It's terribly slow for me, and I'm afraid I'm getting bored with it.

Any help?

Thanks so much,

Chet W
There's no set time that it should take to learn something. It takes a while to become as good at finger style as Emmanuel. And after that, you have to train your fretting hand to play the right notes. Just take it slow. If you get bored, take a break for a day. Play some other stuff you're more used to and then come back to it later. Good luck.
Quote by Geldin
Junior's usually at least a little terse, but he knows his stuff. I've always read his posts in a grouchy grandfather voice, a grouchy grandfather with a huge stiffy for alternate picking.
Besides that, he's right this time. As usual.
Probably the answer you don't want to hear but I'll say it anyways:

As long as it takes.

People (including me) get to caught up in "if I practice this song for an hour a day, I should have it down in 12 days."
Quote by d1sturbed4eva
People (including me) get to caught up in "if I practice this song for an hour a day, I should have it down in 12 days."