This must be as old as the hills but I am new to bass so please humour me. I play guitar and have moved to bass, I find it easier playing with a pick ala nikki sixx, which seeing as i play 80s metal may not be a problem.

What i want to know is will playing with a pick limit me or be a real problem as I advance
pick vs finger is all about tone period.

learn both or yes you will be a limited bassist
I tend to use the searchbar.

Before this thread gets closed though, there are 2 points you must know.
1. It's personal opinion.
2. Learn both. You may only use one, but be able to use both if needed.

Quote by dullsilver_mike
The resonant frequency of the clitoris is too low for the guitar players to take care of.

Quote by jackers1234
you sir, have just won for this statement. =D

Young Knees
fingers allow for faster and more versatile playing, it's also more impressive to watch a guy playing with his fingers
I'M A COWBOY
Quote by loaded_
fingers allow for faster and more versatile playing, it's also more impressive to watch a guy playing with his fingers

Subjective to the max!

Really depends on genre and playing style. I've seen funk players play with a pick and I've seen punk players play with fingers. Just find a tone and technique you like and you should be set.

I play with a pick in songs where my bass sound needs to be defined and precise, and I play with my fingers for more mellow and chill-out stuff...

But remember, with the ladies, a bass player uses 2 fingers... and a thumb
Baaaaaaazz
I dislike the percussive sound of a pick and find that I get lost on my bass when I play with a pick. I don't feel as connected to my guitar either. I can play pick style, as I learned to play with it, but after a year or 2 of picking, I switched to mostly fingers, and now I can't go back.

Plus you can drop a pick, unless your fingers are prone to falling off at random times, you'll never drop them.
Quote by JagerSlushy

Black people play bass.
Quote by isabiggles