Sorry if this is in the wrong forum. Feel free to just skip to the questions.

My school has a jazz band which I'd like to join. I talked to the director and if I can prove to him I'm good enough I'd be able to. He doesn't have much spare time so I have a little over two weeks.

He said that to be able to join I'd have to be able to read music. I don't really have a problem with that but I could be better. Most of there music is chords, the chord name is indicated on top and slashes for the rhythm. I wasn't there long enough to get a good look at it.

I mostly read music where they give you the notes, not just slashes so I'm fairly new to this.

Questions:
-Along with the chord name, the position should be marked right? If not it's open? Again, I only had a quick glance at it so I didn't notice any.

-What type of chords are mainly used in jazz? Dominant 7ths? Would that include major/minor sevenths? What other chords? As you can tell I don't know to much about jazz. Other then that I have a decent knowledge of chords in general.

-Any advice in general for the people who are experienced with this?

Thanks!
Sometimes they'll give you a position on where to play the chord (or a chart of ways to play them, with several positions and voicings), but usually its up to the player.

You'll need to know all of your seventh chords, and all the extended and altered dominants for sure.
Quote by isaac_bandits
Sometimes they'll give you a position on where to play the chord (or a chart of ways to play them, with several positions and voicings), but usually its up to the player.

From the one I saw it was pretty much all sevenths with no position markings.

I don't get how it's up to the player. My ear is not the best but if you play the same chord, just in a different position it sounds like a completly different chord, even though it's essentially the same thing.