So I know that a lot of professional artists do this.

Yesterday I boosted the dirty channel on my orange amp with a bad monkey distortion pedal (gain set to 0 on pedal). (orange RV 50)

Our drummer, who went to school for audio engineering, immediately flamed me and told me that I am ruining my dirty channel by boosting it with a 50 dollar distortion pedal (or any distortion pedal).

Yeah, it sounded a little different, but I feel like it increased the "edge" and tightined up the channel a bit. the dirty channel didnt sound as "dark" or muddled.

We got in a fierce argument with my points mainly being "professional artists do it, and the fact that I didnt think it sounded that bad", and his arguments being "Im an audio engineer, I know my stuff, why put your signal throigh an inferior preamp circuit aboard the pedal when it can go through your awesome circuit aboard the amp, you are destroying your signal". his points seem valid when I logically think about it, but using this example he would flame zakk wylde for using a distortion pedal in front of his godly marshall amp.

So I ask you guys humbly...what do you think? (I could be wrong...)
Current Gear

Bogner Uberschall
Mesa Dual Rectifier (Old Version)
Orange Closed Back 2x12 Cab with V30's
PRS Custom 24 Top 10 with 57/08 pickups
Schecter Hellraiser
Breedlove Atlas AD20
A bunch of pedals
If it really sounds good to you, do it. If you're being a bit of a muppet and just saying it sounds cool because it's new and exciting, or its something that you "invented" and now you feel all protective of it, stop it. Try really listening to it properly on your own. Using a boost or a good overdrive into a driven amp channel often works well, but adding thick distortion generally makes a sound that most people would describe as awful. It tends to lack clarity and become muddy and or fizzy all at once.
Gear: