Hey guys, I've always wanted to get EMG's for my guitar but have been hesitant because I don't know how to solder or install pickups and don't want to shell out alot of cash on a guitar tech to do it for me.

However I've been looking at the EMG60-X and EMG81-X and they are solderless so I was wondering if I should get them and attempt to do it myself. How hard is it? Do you guys think I could do it if I have no knowledge whatsoever on installing pickups whatsoever? Would it be better to have a guitar tech do it?

http://www.guitarcenter.com/EMG-60-X-Active-Humbucker-Pickup-876046-i1448538.gc
http://www.guitarcenter.com/EMG-81-X-Active-Humbucker-Pickup-876040-i1448532.gc
Ibanez RG4EXFM1
Roland Cube 30x
Line 6 Pod X3 Live
LTD Ec-1000
Mesa/Boogie Dual Rectifier Roadster
there is some soldering involved in regards to the switch, if you have no experiencs taking it to a tech would be a good idea, i find the diagram for the new solderless pickups confusing and, i've got much experience with circuit diagrams
Quote by britishsligean
there is some soldering involved in regards to the switch, if you have no experiencs taking it to a tech would be a good idea, i find the diagram for the new solderless pickups confusing and, i've got much experience with circuit diagrams

the switch wires are put on the bus and screwwed on i think.

AFAIK all EMG-X's are completely solderless and says so on the emg site.

Ts it shouldnt be hard to install the pickups because i can understand the diagrams

EDIT: Instructions for EMG-X's
EMG site

On the instructions for wiring the pickups it shows a green and grey box, the wires slot in this and are tightened and dont come out, as for the jack a special pre-wired jack comes with the EMGs, they're now completley solderless if i was told correctly on their forum.
Gear:
LTD Viper-50
LTD V-250
Line 6 Spider iii 15
Randall RX120R
Boss ME-50
Last edited by riflesndaisies at Dec 17, 2009,