im thinking of saving up ALL my christmas money so i can afford a nice ibanez 5 string http://bass-guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product/Ibanez-SR505-Bass?sku=517942 im just wondering if its worth it or will i regret it. Im really into bands like Between the buried and me and tool alot of progressive stuff
also i have no experience playing one and get confused as tits when playing one but i really want to learn but i keep thinking the 5th string will be an annoyance

advice?
Last edited by Disobey666 at Dec 18, 2009,
it will be annoying and confusing at first. but when you get around it, going back to a four string will feel like you're missing a leg.

i have the same bass, although an older series of it.

I prefer the fender jazz V, for metal. but the ibanez is still very decent.
Grammar and spelling omitted as an exercise for the reader.
its only an extra string, it's not a completely new instrument. you're over thinking it

GUITARS CURRENTLY USED
Ibanez RG7621
Ibanez RG121
ESP LTD H-400
If the guitarists have 7 strings and you've got 4, have a fun time tuning down to B.

In seriousness though, the 5th string can get in the way if you're not using it, but I like to think you can use it even if you're with a standard guitar. Whover said you can only be 1 octave lower?
I prefer the 5 string bass to the 4 string bass because it gives a greater range while playing, for example, you won't have to drop D the E-string when the song calls for it. I would say go for it. And it is very easy to adjust from a 4 string to a 5 string, but the improvement shows while you are playing it.
<(o0,)>
i never had any trouble playing a 7 string guitar or a 5 string bass for the first times

true when i did it felt wierd, but i could still shred/funk the hell out of them

it dosnt make much diffrence to your playing, you wont need to relearn, just feels wierd n i spose that will go when you get used to it