Ive been playing regularly 1-2 hrs a day for a few months now and recently experianced some weird pain in my forearm. I usually concentrate on lead work but after running through some bar chords had pain on the underside of my forearm bettween the wrist and elbow. It is sore to the touch also like a deep bruise.
Any suggestions or similar injuries.
Well then stop doing whatever you're doing. Duh. Playing guitar isn't supposed to hurt.

You might also look at how you're gripping the neck and move to the most natural and comfortable possible position.
GMW hot-rod telecaster
GMW soloist
PRS Custom 24
The Illegal Les Paul
CAE 3+SE
Soldano SM-100R
Splawn 4x12

“Life is on the wire…the rest is just waiting” - Papa Wallenda
Substitute the stage for the wire, and he's got it.
the only thing ive done different is that I normally play with my thumb over the neck and tried playing in the Corect way with thumb pressing on back of neck.
Would this change cause it?
Quote by jjram33
the only thing ive done different is that I normally play with my thumb over the neck and tried playing in the Corect way with thumb pressing on back of neck.
Would this change cause it?

**** yes. Stop doing that. It's typically a bad idea no matter how much a few bedroom players advocate it. It's certainly not "Correct" in some general sense. Sometimes you need to move your thumb (for example, barre chords) but the thumb behind the neck position is somewhat unnatural and makes for wrist problems if done too much or too dramatically.
GMW hot-rod telecaster
GMW soloist
PRS Custom 24
The Illegal Les Paul
CAE 3+SE
Soldano SM-100R
Splawn 4x12

Last edited by Even Bigger D at Dec 18, 2009,
no prob
GMW hot-rod telecaster
GMW soloist
PRS Custom 24
The Illegal Les Paul
CAE 3+SE
Soldano SM-100R
Splawn 4x12

Quote by Even Bigger D
but the thumb behind the neck position is somewhat unnatural and makes for wrist problems if done too much or too dramatically.