Hi. ive been playing for 6-7 months now, and i know quite a bit of theory, and i want to get round to making my own song. I have lyrics written and have started writing the riffs. However, i think that the riffs i use (which are mainly power chords) can seem repetitive at times. My friend says that i should ignore theory, and just play whatever sounds good. What should i do?
Well your friend is wrong except for you should play what sounds good.
There's not much to be said except make it sound the way you want. If they're repetitive, change them a little beat each verse or something.
what i do is get inspired by something then write anything and see what sounds good then i decide what part it should be in the song (e.g chorus, verse) then work out some chords over it. i usually see other parts it will work well with so i just see what chords would work well as another part to the song. i know my way is ****ed up but it works well for me and i'm happy with the results. just test out different ways of writing and see which works best
alright then. thanks guys ive only been playing for 7 months though, and ive still gotta get the hang of tapping, and making my fingers more accurate (had a slow start). but i hope to get better next year, as is my new years resolution
i wouldnt worry about writing yet if i were you. just get to know the instrument and enjoy playing it and that will help so much. i've been playing for 5 years and some of the things you pick up can help so much.
Quote by dragozan
Hi. ive been playing for 6-7 months now, and i know quite a bit of theory, and i want to get round to making my own song. I have lyrics written and have started writing the riffs. However, i think that the riffs i use (which are mainly power chords) can seem repetitive at times. My friend says that i should ignore theory, and just play whatever sounds good. What should i do?

Your friend is a noob...you can't "ignore" theory, you either understand it or you don't.