i have an old piece o crap ibanez gio guitar with a neck that is insanely warped. i just use the guitar as a test subject for my ideas ( i installed a kill switch on it and i have no soldering experience, but it worked ). but recently i got the idea to should strip and gut the guitar, refinish it, and rebuild it with a new neck, all new electronics, and maybe a little bit of body modification.

so my questions are:
where do i get a good replacement bolt on neck preferably under $100(square socket)?
what is the best way to get rid of the thick plasticy clear coat of of the body?
and is this a good idea or a complete waste of time and money?

i have some extra gibson 498 and 490 pickups sitin around i could use until i get some extar cash to buy some good dimarzios or duncans. but i woud have to buy all of the pots, switch, jack, and plastic parts. i would want to wire it with 2 volume controls w/ coil tap push pull pots, master tone, 3 way toggle switch, and a kill swtich.
any help is greatly appreciated
You might as well buy a new guitar or just build one. And judgeing by your question about replacment necks and the such you should realy reaserch beforehand. I know Warmoth sells replacment parts and neck but you will probably have to have one custom made to your neck pocket if you want a decent fit. As for finish removing there are numerouse methods. Sanding is the most obviouse but it can be done with heat.
ya i have done some resarch and i know findng a good cheap neck would be tough i could probly streach that budget a bit... bt i dont have all of the wood working tools to make a guitar... ive checked warmouth out befor and thats probly were i would buy all of my parts but i was hoping to spend a little less on a neck but im out of school right now and im board and want something to do. and i figured sanding would work but didnt know if there were any chemical treaments that could get the job done faster
Last edited by GuernZila at Dec 19, 2009,