Ok so I'm a beginner (about 3 months), and I'm dead-set on learning. I already have a cheap strat for learning, but its a dog of a thing to play because its a re-strung right handed guitar, and its falling apart(plan on fixing). I'm planning on buying a left handed guitar now. The problem is the ones I've been checking out are generally at least $150 more expensive then their right hand variations. My current budget is ~$400-$500
Now theres this company called Gaskell that I've been hearing great things about. They make left handed guitars exclusively, and are supposedly the only company in the world that do a left handed explorer shape body, and I can get that for roughly $1000.

I know Gaskell to be reliable and have extremely good customer support. So considering I'm a beginner, would it be wiser to go with them and fork out the extra, or take a gamble with a $400 instrument thats only worth about $250?

Thanks

Oh, I'm in Australia by the way.
Last edited by miker545 at Dec 19, 2009,
I would recommend trying to string your current guitar righty since you're a beginner. Try learning to play right handed. You've only been playing for 3 months so it may be worth it. There isn't a difference between left handed and right handed guitars as you'll encounter the same problems along the way. The only difference is when you initially pick it up and you're tempted to hold it the lefty and righty way. Guitar is all about practice and nothing about it is natural so it won't harm or hinder you in any way to learn righty. If you practice the same amount on righty as you do lefty and vice versa, you'll be in the same place. It may have some bumpy roads in the first couple of days, but once you overcome that, it'll be the same.

The reason I recommend learning righty is because there are more than 10 times the amount of righty guitars on the market and most of them are cheaper than their left-handed counterparts. It'll save you time, money, and hassle in the long run.