I got a Learn and Master Guitar book & DVD's from a friend and it says to anchor the right hand using the pinky and that is what I've been doing, however, I read in multiple places that you shouldn't anchor it with the pinky for reasons I don't really remember :x.

My questions are:

- Which way should I play it?

- Does it influence a lot in the end?

- What are the reasons for not anchoring the pinky?

Thanks in advance for the answers,
NandoAlves.
Last edited by NandoAlves at Dec 19, 2009,
By left hand, I assume you're talking about the fretting hand since most people are right-handers?

By support, do you mean anchor the pinky to the fretboard?
Quote by Timothongz
By left hand, I assume you're talking about the fretting hand since most people are right-handers?

By support, do you mean anchor the pinky to the fretboard?

That left hand is a mistake :x

Yes, I mean anchor the pinky on the fretboard.
The book would probably be telling you to anchor your picking hand pinky on the pickguard or body of the guitar, because I've not seen anyone anchor their pinky on the fretboard.

If it really does... then don't do it, you're basically limiting your left hand movement and losing the usage of one finger. The thumb should give sufficient support for the fretting hand already.
Quote by Timothongz
The book would probably be telling you to anchor your picking hand pinky on the pickguard or body of the guitar, because I've not seen anyone anchor their pinky on the fretboard.

If it really does... then don't do it, you're basically limiting your left hand movement and losing the usage of one finger. The thumb should give sufficient support for the fretting hand already.

Let me explain myself again, I am not English/american, which makes it a little hard to explain everything... :x

The book tells me to anchor the right hand's (picking hand) pinky on the body of the guitar, not the left hand on the fretboard.