Page 1 of 2
OK FIRSTLY, this is not a debate thread trying to cause arguements.
SECONDLY, i did use the search bar

So im primarily a guitarist, have been mucking around on a friends bass a bit lately and am now gonna make the leap to learn bass.
So the thing i want to know, Will playing with a pick hold me back at all?
I will be playing metal and metal only

Thanks
Quote by Shea Donoghue

Then, about two minutes later of just plowing, I can feel it coming. She's still moaning and rolling back, and then I pull out. I grab her by her hair, pull her head up, and yell out:
"BOOM, HEADSHOT!"
Quote by xblack_sabbathx
OK FIRSTLY, this is not a debate thread trying to cause arguements.
SECONDLY, i did use the search bar

So im primarily a guitarist, have been mucking around on a friends bass a bit lately and am now gonna make the leap to learn bass.
So the thing i want to know, Will playing with a pick hold me back at all?
I will be playing metal and metal only

Thanks

In this case, i don't think it will hold you back, but if you really want to learn bass, you might wanna try without. If your just switching for a little bit 'cause your bandmates forced you to, then just use a pick
❒ Taken ❒ Single ✔ Would like a sandwich

Vereor Deus

Quote by dann_blood
Branding!?!? THAT'S TOO PROGRESSIVE! I say bring back settlement payments in weights of lead and impalement upon wooden stakes!

Quote by Doctor Matthews
Oh! Sorry, I thought that was a braille name tag.
Quote by xblack_sabbathx
Will playing with a pick hold me back at all?
Depends whether you will be playing exclusively with a pick or not. If yes, it's a possibility, even if you only play metal. You should use the technique that creates the sound you prefer.

stratkat
yeah..well i think im going to go with a pick, might end up learning to use fingers but not at this stage.
Quote by Shea Donoghue