Hi guys,

I'm new here. I had a look and i cant find the answer to this question so i thought i would ask it!

I have been playing in DADGad tuning for a few years now, but having difficulties keeping the guitar in tune in-between songs!

I have a Takamine D series acoustic with gauge 12 D'addario EJ16 Light 12-53 steel strings on it.

I only put the strings on a few days ago, i have stretched the strings several times and tune and re-tune it regularly using a digital tuner.

My problem is that it wont stay in tune! it keeps going flat and sounding terrible.

I play in DADGad with no capo, then capo on 2nd fret, 3rd, 5th etc. even when i change from no capo to capo 2nd or any fret, it mucks around with the tuning and i need to retune it again, very frustrating! I have a decent capo as well, one of those solid "Kyser" quick change KG6B

Can you recommend anything i can do to fix it? better/thicker strings? or a different method of re-stringing my guitar in the first place?

Any help will be greatly appreciated!

Has anyone else had a similar problem?

Steve
You could always get a locking tuner.
Quote by aldo47
(i thought hot strings would make me finger faster.)
so i tried to set my strings on fire by putting a lighter on the high e string n it cut it so wtf??!!? i passed the lighter rrly slowly by it for less then a sec n then it snapped...
you mean locking nut...or at least head, not tuner because there is no such thing

and try getting thicker strings. thicker strings are better for lower tunings. dont get them to thick though, its only a step down
Locking tuners, definitely. Plus a graphite nut and maybe bridge. I'm pretty sure I've seen a pack of all three somewhere for acoustics...

EDIT:

Quote by link no1
you mean locking nut...or at least head, not tuner because there is no such thing

Actually, they are called tuners. The things you turn? Yeah.