hey all
i really need some help i have been playing guitar for about 2 years and i want to upgrade from my beginner guitar
i can not choose between a semi-hollow, hollow, or electric, my budget is around $600
i mostly play rock
thanks in advance
Well rock is a pretty broad term these days. You mean Elvis rock or Kings Of Leon rock? I'm assuming you are into more modern stuff so a solidbody electric would be best suited. You can get away with a semi-hollow, but the good ones tend to be more expensive and you lose sustain and certain tonal qualities that are generally desirable in rock styles.

I would suggest since you're a beginner to get a solidbody electric like a Les Paul or decent strat copy. Try Ibanez RG series, Agile, Tokai, Cort, ESP etc

Look some of those up and see if there's any you like

EDIT: What kind of amp do you have because that will make the biggest difference to your sound. A guitar that you actually enjoy playing is very important also especially starting out because your ear for tone hasn't developed so you will want to find some middle ground between decent guitar and decent amp.
Last edited by AxSilentxLine at Dec 21, 2009,
Quote by AxSilentxLine
Well rock is a pretty broad term these days. You mean Elvis rock or Kings Of Leon rock? I'm assuming you are into more modern stuff so a solidbody electric would be best suited. You can get away with a semi-hollow, but the good ones tend to be more expensive and you lose sustain and certain tonal qualities that are generally desirable in rock styles.

I would suggest since you're a beginner to get a solidbody electric like a Les Paul or decent strat copy. Try Ibanez RG series, Agile, Tokai, Cort, ESP etc

Look some of those up and see if there's any you like